The Life & Whimsies of Knitty Lou

Current Works In Progress

Posted on: July 9, 2011

This cardigan was hanging up in my local yarn shop as a sample and I just loved it. I’m using the same yarn that Jane used and it’s a light cotton and alpaca blend. I have the back done up to the arm holes but then put it down until I could figure out the specific decreases that it calls for. I haven’t touched it in probably 3 months. I need to pick it back up again soon. I really want to wear it!
image

Yarn: Rowan Alpaca Cotton
Needles: US 7 – 4.5 mm
Designer: Julie Weisenberger
Pattern: Katarina

I started this blanket for myself after I had learned the basic granny square. The first few were very difficult for me until I got the hang of the pattern. It uses SC, DC, HDC, cluster Stitches, and weird spacing but I think it looks like a sun and love it. I wanted a patchwork blanket (or three) because it would be easy to carry around.
image
Yarn: Caron Simply Soft
Hook: 5.5 mm (I)
Designer: Margret Willson
Pattern: Sunscape Throw

I wanted this blanket for Jack. It’s really sweet and simple. It’s a free pattern from Spud & Chloe and I get to use my Harmony Straights for it.
image
Yarn: Cascade Yarns 220 Wool
Needles: US 8 – 5.0 mm
Designer: Susan B. Anderson
Pattern: Dream Catcher Baby Blanket

A basic granny square blanket was a great way to learn more crochet. I had this yarn in my stash and decided the colors would be really cute for my nephew, Connor. I think it may be his Christmas gift.
image
Yarn: Baby Bee Sweet Delight Baby
Hook: 4.0 mm (G)
Designer: Myself
Pattern: None

Another monster. No surprise there I’m sure. My sister-in-law has already named him “Chuck the Vomit Monster” because the yarn is disgustingly colored. I didn’t think it would be so bad in the skein but it’s definitely knitting up kind of gross LOL. The magic loop is coming along quite well and I have to say, that Alicia was right. It rocks!
image
Yarn: Hobby Lobby I Love This Yarn! Ombre c. perpetual sunshine
Needles: US 4 – 3.5 mm
Designer: Rebecca Danger
Pattern: Baldwin the Bathroom Monster

3 Responses to "Current Works In Progress"

Even though the yarn does kind of seem ugly, he’ll turn out as cute as the one you already finished I’m sure! Also, thanks for the demonstration on Magic Loop–it sounds much more intimidating then it really is!

Totally. Now that I’m finished with my 2 nd M.L. experience, I can honestly say it rocks.

Leave a Reply

A woman on the verge of crazy trying to balance family, work, and knitting!

Past Posts

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
