The Life & Whimsies of Knitty Lou

Cabled Cell Phone Cozy Pattern

Posted on: November 17, 2009

I wanted a pattern to fit my new Android Smartphone by Google with a pretty 3 stranded cable. Since I couldn’t find exactly what I wanted, I decided to design my own.

Photobucket

Yarn: Happy Feet by Plymouth Yarn or any fingering weight that will give you gauge.

Gauge: 32 st = 4 in

Needles: US#2 DPNs or magic loop

CO 48 and join in the round

CUFF
Rows 1-4 1×1 ribbing

BODY PATTERN
Rows 1-3: K16, P2, K12. P2, K16
Row 4: K16, P2, Cable 6 Front (C6F), Cable 6 Back (C6B), P2, K16
Rows 5-7: K16, P2, K12, P2, K16
Row 8: K16, P2, K3, C6F, K3, P2, K16
Rows 9-11: K16, P2, K12, P2, K16
Row 12: K16, P2, C6F, C6B, P2, K16
Rows 13-15: K16, P2, K12, P2, K16
Row 16: K16, P2, K3, C6B, K3, P2, K16
Repeat Body Pattern (Rows 1-16) 3 times total
Repeat Rows 1-6 once more

FINISHING
Decrease Row: K10, SSK, K2tog ,K2, P2, K12, P2, K2, SSK, K2tog K first 11 stitches of next row.

Divide stitches evenly between 2 needles with cable pattern centered on second needle.

Flip sock inside out and cast-off using the 3 needle bind off.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

7 Responses to "Cabled Cell Phone Cozy Pattern"

Hi Knitty,

Can I use circular needles or this pattern? It is really cute.

Thanks,
DK

Sure. A circular would be fine as long as you used the magic loop method. The cozy circumference is too small for anything else. Enjoy!

Knitty — Are there any corrections to this pattern? I’ve started it three times and can’t get the cables to line up correctly. Please email me at: stitch124@charter.net.

Thanks,
Julie

Hi Julie.

Thanks for taking interest in my pattern. I’m very sorry that you have run into difficulties however. The only adjustment I have made to the pattern is the words, “join in the round” at the request of one of the knitters who has completed the pattern. Other than that, I know that many people have completed it without errors.

My advice would be to make sure that you are in fact knitting it in the round and also that you are not expecting the cables to be identical. If you look at my photo, there actually appears to be 3 strands going through the braid rather than the typical 2.

I hope that helps and I would love to see a photo of your finished piece. Good luck.

Let me know if I can be of any more help.

OoKnittyLou

P.S. I have also sent this to your email.

Oh wow.. this is really cute.. and beautiful.. thanks for sharing this pattern.. Will try this! 😀

This looks great – can’t wait to try it!

Thanks for posting 🙂 I was also severely disappointed in the android covers available as well

Leave a Reply

A woman on the verge of crazy trying to balance family, work, and knitting!

Past Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
