The Life & Whimsies of Knitty Lou

Change of Plans

Posted on: August 31, 2009

Okay so after MANY comments and tips from all of the much wiser knitters than I, (Thankyou all so very much) I have come to the conclusion that recycling this sweater is in all actuality, NOT a good idea. Between the fact that the gauge is off .5 stitches for every 4″ (I unraveled part of the sweater in order to get a gauge, but have since reknit it so I can wear it as is) and the 100% acrylic, I have been convinced that it would be a shame to do all of this work on my favorite pattern queued so far with completely acrylic yarn. I went to my LYS today and one of the women there helped me to explore my options. We decided on Plymouth Yarn Encore Chunky 75% Acrylic 25% Wool. Which mind you, is EXACTLY what one of my readers recommended. Thankyou “madeyou_look” you are truly a genius 🙂 I found it in a tweedy taupe whih I love and it doesn’t look nearly as flat as my last experience with this yarn. Yeah tweed! At 25% Wool, I think my contact allergy should be okay as long as I don’t over-do it. Let me repeat that now, “Do Not Over-Do Your Knitting Lou!” Yeah right lol. The total yarn price was $84.00 and *OFFICIALLY* last time I am buying yarn until my stash is much more manageable.

So, thank you all for your advice and encouragement and although I am not recycling for this sweater, I will still be update progress pictures and notes if you would like to follow along.

PhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

A woman on the verge of crazy trying to balance family, work, and knitting!

Past Posts

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
