The Life & Whimsies of Knitty Lou

Yarnoholics Anonymous

Posted on: August 26, 2009

So I think I need to find my local “yarnoholic” anonymous meeting. I indeed have an addiction to knitting and buying yarn. Dictionary.com’s definition of addiction is as follows;

Addiction: -noun
the state of being enslaved to a habit or practice or to something that is psychologically or physically habit-forming, as narcotics, to such an extent that its cessation causes severe trauma.

Yup! That pretty much sums it up, except for the whole narcotic thing. I not only had to buy a new storage container for my stash, but I just bought new yarn last week with no idea (Got that? NO idea!) what in the world I am going to knit with it. But then today, I spent $100 at Knitpicks.com. What, may I ask, is going through my head? If I am not knitting or shopping to knit I feel sad almost; like a piece of my life is missing. I have this mentality that whenever something goes wrong, knitting can fix it. “What? No toilet paper? Sorry honey, but look at my pretty project! Don’t you just feel so much better now?” It’s ridiculous really, but I love it! I think we all do. All of us crazy and addicted knitters. We should all really be committed. Oh no, wait. That would mean no needles. Never-mind. Knitters WITHOUT needles would likely be more dangerous than crazy, non-knitters WITH needles.

I’m in the middle of 4 books at the moment. Slow progress considering I would actually have to stop knitting long enough to read. They are all very entertaining so far.

small1small3smallsmall2

The Secret Life of a Knitter is a refreshing grasp on this crazy and yarn-filled life.
Drunk, Divorced, and Covered In Cat Hair is a light hearted and mostly humorous memoir.
The Host is a typical sci-fi story but with two rocking women main characters, a nice change.
The Accidental Housewife is truly going to save my life. More efficient housework = more time to knit.

I also have an awesome shout-out tonight. I have discovered the pod-cast Here’s To Ewe and it is by far the best I’ve heard! It has two women speakers, Maddie Hatter and Red Queen, and the topics are great. Their information is imperative for the “new” knitter to know and very easy to follow. They also have a section called “Drunk In Public” that is truly original and hilarious. In fact, the first time I ever heard one of their pod-cast was on my Ipod in a waiting room. Awkward could not begin to describe my feelings when the completely silent room gave me the evil eye because I was laughing uncontrollably. If you haven’t already, please go check them out. You will be pleasantly entertained as well as educated. Here’s the link.

http://herestoewe.wordpress.com/

Goodnight all. Your crazy blogger is ready for her slippers, comfy pants, and my nice warm bed. Take care.

Leave a Reply

A woman on the verge of crazy trying to balance family, work, and knitting!

Past Posts

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
